Pinterest

Oh, how I love Pinterest! At first, I was skeptical–who needs to look at a bunch of pictures? But once I tried it, I was hooked. It’s a kind of online scrapbook where you can save photos of all the things you love. It’s free and easy to use, and the possibilities are endless.

Here’s how it works:  I create “boards” of my interests, such as “I Love Britain.” Then I can “follow” people I know, like my friend Melissa M. who also loves Britain. You’re encouraged to “repin” pictures from other boards, and she has one of Blenheim Palace, so I repin it to my board. I can write a caption about what it means to me. Then strangers see it and repin from me. When I see that these new people have repinned, I can also follow them and find their pics of Blenheim. On their boards, I might see a historical photo of Winston Churchill, who was born at Blenheim. Oh, yeah, that reminds me! Then I can do a “search” for Jennie Jerome, his mother. I can find recipes for English tea sandwiches. I can upload photos from my hard drive. It leads on and on. I check in for a moment, and next time I look up, hours have passed.

So far, I have the following boards:

  • Adorable Babies & Pets
  • My Style
  • Arizona
  • Gorgeous Men
  • Beautiful Women
  • Reading & Writing
  • I love Disney
  • I love Britain
  • Family
  • Colonial Williamsburg, VA
  • Food
  • Interesting People
  • Favorite Movies & Plays

The photos are absolutely beautiful, and it reminds me of things, people, and places that have meant a great deal to me over the years. It’s like collecting memories all in one place. Like enjoying a full-color magazine filled with things I love. Like that song from The Sound of Music:

“When the dog bites, when the bee stings,

when I’m feeling sad,

I simply remember my favorite things,

and then I don’t feel so bad.”

Come follow me on Pinterest. It’s awesome!

3 thoughts on “Pinterest

Leave a Reply

