Blog Update and Branding

     Yes, it’s time to re-do my blog/ web site. I’d been kind of bored and lax about posting lately. Then inspiration hit! Lisa Pietsch spoke at Valley of the Sun Romance Writers here in Phoenix. Beautiful photo of her, isn’t it? Her web site is equally good at http://lisapietsch.com.

One thing I learned is that in writing, blogging, and social networking, you must have a “brand” so that both you and your readers immediately see what you’re all about. My brand has been “writing and living in the desert of Phoenix, AZ.” But that covered so much. Too much. It also seemed so exotic when we moved here, but it’s been two years now. It’s not really my brand.

What is my brand? What do I love? What have I accomplished? Where do I want to go next with my blog and my writing?

Whether historical or contemporary, set in England or the desert, I’ve always loved romantic suspense and thrillers. They’re what I most enjoy reading, writing, and viewing in movies. So I’m changing the focus of my blog to reflect this. Having a tight focus is important and clarifying! Already, I feel energized. What fun!

What is your brand?

See you in the swirling mists …

9 thoughts on “Blog Update and Branding

  1. […] I recently spent some time in Phoenix with the Valley of the Sun Romance Writers (a chapter of the Romance Writers of America).  I presented a short workshop on “4 Weeks to Social Media Rock Stardom” and then followed up with 13 one-on-one consulting sessions with members of the chapter.  I met some wonderful people and was lucky enough to have face-to-face time with previously “virtual” friends.  It was a great experience.  Elizabeth Parker, one of the chapter members, was kind enough to mention me in a blog of hers here. […]

  2. […] I recently spent some time in Phoenix with the Valley of the Sun Romance Writers (a chapter of the Romance Writers of America).  I presented a short workshop on “4 Weeks to Social Media Rock Stardom” and then followed up with 13 one-on-one consulting sessions with members of the chapter.  I met some wonderful people and was lucky enough to have face-to-face time with previously “virtual” friends.  It was a great experience.  Elizabeth Parker, one of the chapter members, was kind enough to mention me in a blog of hers here. […]

Leave a Reply

