Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

  I recently bought the DVD for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, and it’s my constant companion. With all the dreck that comes out of Hollyweird these days, I can’t remember a recent film I’ve enjoyed more. Many wonderful moments that I wait for and revel in, over and over.

It’s all about loyalty and keeping secrets. As Peter Travers of Rolling Stone said, “The film emerges as a tale of loneliness and desperation among men who can never disclose their secret hearts, even to themselves. It’s easily one of the year’s best films.”

I love George Smiley. He’s a deceptively quiet man–one you would never pick out of a crowd–and yet he emerges as an intelligent force to be reckoned with. A person you can count on. He’s loyal and admirable, even in the face of multiple layers of betrayal, deceit, and lies.

What a wonderful cast and fine acting. My four faves are Gary Oldman (who was up for an Academy Award for Best Actor as George Smiley). 

Tom Hardy is a pleasure to watch with his lovely face.

Benedict Cumberbatch is also mesmerizing–many nuances and what posture!

And, of course, the always charming Colin Firth.

The ambiance appeals to me–late 60s/early 70s England. The music is evocative. My only regret is that “La Mer” doesn’t appear on the soundtrack.

We even get to see the book’s author, John LeCarre, in a party scene in the movie!   Of course, I read the book, along with The Russia House, and thoroughly enjoyed it, too.

I just can’t say enough about this movie. It’s a reminder that there are intelligent, good people in the world. That some values still shine. That quiet truth sometimes triumphs over bombastic lies. It just makes me feel happy.

Leave a Reply

