4th of July!

  Happy Birthday, my beloved country!

This weekend, I’m watching again the HBO series about John Adams–lovely, inspiring, and enjoyable.

Last night, I began re-reading Washington, the Indispensable Man by Flexner. It’s great reading and kept me up until 2:00 A.M. I truly believe that George Washington was our greatest President.

Today, I’ve been at the Colonial Williamsburg web site, reliving my year there as a Historical Interpreter. One of the best years of my life. So many good friends, so much history, so much beauty in the surroundings.

  Ahh, memories! I had just driven from Nebraska to Virginia, arriving at my new apartment in the beginning of July. On the night of the 4th, I went with friends to experience the fireworks on the Palace Green at Colonial Williamsburg–a fitting beginning to a year immersed in the history of our country.

Long may our flag wave–proud and free!

Leave a Reply

