Still Sick

sneezing.jpg  I can’t believe how long this cold has hung on. I just can’t seem to shake it. Now I’m getting huge amounts of phlegm — coughing and sneezing. I’m just taking care of myself and working through my daily tasks in a gentle way.

A bright spot was last night’s season finale of 24. Many plot threads were tied up with neat bows. “Pouty” is pregnant. The vice-president seems to be learning from his mistakes. Josh was rescued.

The best thing was Jack Bauer’s final scene with Audrey. Even though she couldn’t hear him, he quietly told her “I love you with all my heart. I always will.” Then he left alone to look over the empty ocean. His feelings were all reflected in his face:  “What next? Where in the hell do I go from here?” In that rough and tumble action/adventure show, the characterization scenes are really special.  jack.jpg

5 thoughts on “Still Sick

  1. Hi, Elizabeth

    Sorry to hear your cold is hanging on so long. Best to take it easy, but glad to see you can still get behind your computer for awhile.

    I haven’t seen “24” since the first season, but I really enjoyed that show. I’ve missed seeing what trying situations Jack Bauer could get himself into. Glad to hear this season wrapped up satisfactorily for you.

    Continue to get feeling better!

  2. [Banging my head hopelessly against the wall]

    A show about a dude who gets tortured and gets to torture, all in the name of ‘national security.” I’m reexamining my mythical belive that all of you in the heartland are prima facie good sould, salt of the earth, wise and just. Insted (I know its only show business but so are snuff movies) ya’ll are coming across as thoghtless, fascist xenophobes.

    You’re still my Liz, baby, but goodness, at what a cost! (lol)

    Get well

  3. Captain, I looked up “xenophobe” — fear or hatred of strangers or foreigners. I don’t think all of us here in the Heartland are xenophobic. Neither do I think we’re all “good, solid, salt of the earth, wise, and just.” Maybe a little bit of both?

  4. I think I’ve watched one episode of 24 and that was when it first started. I don’t watch television anymore and to tell you the truth, I don’t miss it much. Well, ok, I miss the History Channel and Turner Classic Movies!

    Betty, so sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well. But the little extra income that you’re earning (wink, wink!) hopefully is helping you feel a bit better!

Leave a Reply

