April Progress

betty.jpg   “April is the cruelest month. . . ”  Or, at least it seemed like it. I didn’t make much progress. My weight loss stalled, so the less said about that, the better.

My book got rejected by Ellora’s Cave, even though I had rewritten and resubmitted. It was still too short and still didn’t have enough sex. However, they said I’m “a talented writer,” and they “strongly encouraged me to submit other work.”

I applied for a full-time job, but they hired from within the company.

I was sick for two weeks, but feel much better now. 

All in all, you could say I got burnt out in April, so I’ve been lying low to recover my energy and spirits. I do apologize for letting down my blogger friends, and I’ll do better during May.

5 thoughts on “April Progress

  1. Oh, Elizabeth, I’m sorry about EC, but they’re right — you ARE a talented writer and should submit again. You’re just starting to feel your way in the genre, so don’t give up!

    And I’m sorry to hear you’ve been so sick, too. Take care of yourself!

  2. Hey, Elizabeth!

    Welcome back. I’ve missed your blog presence. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. At least EC is giving you great feedback. I wouldn’t be surprised if they pick up the next project you submit to them.

    Be well.

  3. Betty, so glad to see you back. Sorry about the job, the rejection, and being sick. April wasn’t very kind to you! But y’know what they say – April showers bring May flowers! Hope you have a “blooming” month in May!

  4. Ah, now your absence makes sense. I was getting worried!

    You have my sympathies all the way around…

    But you know, in my case anyway, my closest-call rejection motivated me to write Souvenir, and that turned out much better than I expected. The same could be true for you–that “right” book might be the one you’re just about to start!

    Glad to have you back.

Leave a Reply

