Sway Me Now

shall-we-dance.jpgI’ve been faithfully attending my ballroom dancing lessons, preparing for our 1st Annual Dance Showcase on June 9, 2007. And no, it’s not too soon to begin preparing. I’m going to need all the practice I can get!

So it’s time for an update on my Showcase rumba, “Sway Me Now.” When my instructor, Sean, first “helped” . . . err, make that “coerced” . . . me into choosing this song, I was leery. (See my post “Out to Sea.”) Since then, I still giggle about the song, but I’ve come full circle and decided I really like it.

We’re using the version sung by the Pussycat Dolls in the movie Shall We Dance:

When marimba rhythms start to play

      Dance with me, make me sway

Like a lazy ocean hugs the shore

     Hold me close, sway me more.

Like a flower bending in the breeze

     Bend with me, sway with ease

When we dance you have a way with me

     Stay with me, sway with me.

Other dancers may be on the floor

     Dear, but my eyes will see only you

Only you have the magic technique

     When we sway I go weak.

So far, Sean and I have choreographed and practiced the Introduction. It’s going to be quite spectacular (if I don’t fall down).

I haven’t seen the movie yet, so I must go get it for inspiration.  Dance on!

3 thoughts on “Sway Me Now

  1. Ooh, what great lyrics! The few times that I’ve actually danced with a guy (okay, I’ve danced with two guys) I felt like a total stick figure. I envy you. 😀

    Oh, and I added an extra line to yesterday’s blog, and this time, the smile has slipped…

Leave a Reply

