Out to Sea

brent-spiner.jpgI’m afraid I won’t be able to keep a straight face!

Basically Ballroom, the studio where I take lessons, is starting to get ready for its 1st Annual Recital, where all students will dance a 2-minute showcase dance. At lesson today, I chose to dance a Rumba. It’s a slow, sexy Latin dance with lots of hip action. I could get a red dress and look very sensual. All well and good.

The next step was choosing the music, so my teacher, Sean, and I sat down to pick out a tune. We listened to lots of rumbas, and we kept coming across different versions of “Sway Me Now.” Each time, I broke into laughter about this song. If you’ve ever seen the movie Out to Sea, you know why. Walter Matthau and Jack Lemon play two aging lotharios who pretend to be “dance hosts” so they can get a free cruise. In reality, they can hardly dance and they keep getting into trouble. Brent Spiner, aka Data from StarTrek, is the boss who keeps spying on them and trying to keep them in line. At one point, Data sings and dances to “Sway Me Now.” He’s being perfectly serious, but it’s played strictly for laughs. One of the song’s lines is “My eyes will see only you,” as he stares with a menacing glare to threaten the two miscreants on the dance floor. It’s so comical.

I knew I could never dance to this song; but slowly, it began to dawn on me that Sean kept returning to it. And he was answering every objection I came up with! 

“Why not ‘Light My Fire’? I love that one.”

“Nah, that one has a rhythm variation that makes it hard to dance to. Now this one . . . ”

“But I’ll just laugh out there.”

“That’s good. Then you’ll be smiling on the dance floor.”

Blah, blah, blah.

Finally, I said it as an accusation — “I think you like this song! Don’t you?!?”

“Yes. We’re doing this one.”

Try to talk a Leo out of running the show! (You Leos out there know who you are, and you know what I mean!)

So, come the dance recital, I’ll be out to sea. Sean even looks a little like Brent Spiner — tall, thin, and dark-haired. OMG, I just hope I can keep a straight face.

4 thoughts on “Out to Sea

  1. This sounds like great fun. I’m sure your laughter will only enhance the performance–everyone will think you have amazing confidence! good luck.

  2. And I loved Data! He was the best part of Next Generation (besides that sexy bald man :D).

    Wishing you nimble feet and, more importantly, a good time at your performance!

Leave a Reply

