First Draft in 30 Days

first-draft-in-30-days.jpgIt was such fun reading Robin’s daily NaNoWriMo progress — so I’m starting something similar here for me! In my writing, I’m at the point of seeing my critique partners’ reactions to my finished book, revising, and sending it in. While waiting for their reactions, I’ve been thinking about starting the next book and looking again at First Draft in 30 Days by Karen Wiesner. She has a detailed day-by-day schedule plan and accompanying worksheets. While I’m not sure all the worksheets will be exactly what I want, I think they’re a good place to start and then refine.

As you’ve probably guessed, I’m trying to come up with a SYSTEM! I wrote my first selling book by the seat of my pants, but it took five years to do it. There has to be an easier, quicker way. And the idea of just plodding ahead,  a la NaNoWriMo, gives me the willys. This gets to the age-old debate of “outlines vs. seat-of-the-pants writing,” which has been discussed ad nauseum. But it’s a very real question every author has to face and decide for herself.

So, for my next book, I’m going to try Karen Wiesner’s system. I’ll post my results here during the month of December. Gulp! Please wish me luck! I have a feeling I’m going to need it. 

2 thoughts on “First Draft in 30 Days

  1. You’ll do great, Betty. I’m anxious to read about your progress.

    I tend to do a system of both “pantsers” and “plotters.” I like to have a basic outline with my characters’ main GMC’s, but I also like to leave room for surprises. 🙂

  2. Ooh, good luck, lady! I’m still trying to find a good balance between plotting and pantsing. 😀 I’ll be cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

