How I Quit Smoking

quit-smoking.jpgMelissa Marsh posted that her husband quit smoking because their little girl made him feel guilty. That’s one way. Hey, whatever works!

I’ll throw in my two-cents worth and tell how I quit on April 23, 2006. It wasn’t any superhuman strength on my part. I didn’t even need any willpower. I’d just had an impacted wisdom tooth pulled and lit up a cigarette. Suddenly, I found myself feeling nauseous, sweating profusely, and literally crawling across the floor to throw up. I thought I’d have to get better to die.

Now, everytime I get the urge, I do three things. (1) I remember how sick it made me.  (2) I think of my sister, Morgana, and her husband, Tom, who both quit and how much I admired them for it.  (3) I tell myself, “Sure, I’d love to smoke. But millions of people get along perfectly well without it, and so can I.”

Yep, smoking was a lot of fun for a long time, but I hope I never start up again. I can’t imagine I ever will.

4 thoughts on “How I Quit Smoking

  1. Good for you, Betty!!! My grandfather smoked and died from emphesema (and I’m pretty sure I spelled that wrong). It was sad to watch him suffer so much – he didn’t even have enough oxygen to be able to eat at the end.

  2. I’m so happy for you, E! You’re much better off without cigarettes, no matter how much fun they were. 😀

    Why were they fun again?

  3. I wrote my secretary a letter that stated that I would give her $250 if I ever used tobacco again. There was no time limit, and if I ever tried to get out of it, it was the same as admitting defeat, and I would still owe her $250.
    That was 20 years ago and she has long since moved away. But, she has family nearby and occasionally visits them…and me. She wants her “f in’ money”. (She always had a way with words.)

    There’s NO way I’m going to spend that much money for a cigarette and I have never cheated.
    Quiting this way took the mental battle away.

  4. Why were they fun, Robin? Jeez, don’t get me started. You know the whole thing about doing something that’s bad for you — makes you feel like a real “rebel without a cause.” (Although that loses its appeal more and more as I get older.) Then there’s the whole thing about desperately wanting something, and then getting it. (Whew! Rush of satisfaction.) And, of course, the social thing — banding with a group of friends/coworkers to take a break. And feeling all sexy and trendy as you squint and puff away. What else? Eating less, since you’re smoking instead. Taking your mind off other things, because you’re preoccupied with finding a darn cig, lighting up, and doing all smoking-related things instead of sitting and thinking about your problems. Oh, there are a whole raft of fun things about smoking. But hey, didn’t I ask you not to get me started? *wink*

Leave a Reply

